Interview with Iain Reading // Author Interview

Author Interview: Iain Reading

I was contacted by a lovely person called Kelsey, on behalf of Iain Reading, the author of the Kitty Hawk series, currently available on: Amazon (the link is below the interview) and was asked to partake in an interview with Iain asking him questions to be published on my blog. Here were the questions, and his answers as well as some background information on the Kitty Hawk series:

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first instalment in new young adult series of adventure mystery stories by Iain Reading. This first book of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series introduces Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot with her own De Havilland Beaver seaplane and a nose for mystery and intrigue. A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations.


What inspired you to write the Kity Hawk Book Series?
I always say that the thing that most inspired me to write the Kitty Hawk series was the character of Kitty Hawk herself.  Once I had the idea for this character in my head I just couldn't get it out again.  Part of me just had to know what her story would be and what adventures she would have and where they could take her.  And the only way to do that was to just get to work and sit down to write the books.

Who is your book aimed at?
The books actually have a very wide appeal, from 8 or 9-year-olds all the way up from there.  Kitty Hawk herself is a teenaged pilot but that doesn't mean that her adventures are just for young adults.  With a good mix of history, action and mystery I think the books can appeal to just about anyone.

Do you see yourself writing more in the Kitty Hawk series or starting another series?
My plan is to have a total of thirteen books in the Kitty Hawk series, of which there are currently four books available with a fifth on the way VERY soon.  (So soon, in fact, that it might be out any day now....)  I am also working on a few other book series as well, including The Guild of the Wizards of Waterfire which tells the story of a group of teenage wizards with special powers to control the elements and weave a form of primordial magic with them.  But my absolute most exciting thing right now is my NEW book series called The Dragon Of The Month club, which tells the story of Ayana and Tyler - two best friends who discover a very special book that allows them to conjure dragons and they find themselves drawn into an amazing adventure through the worlds and stories of various very famous books.

What are your favourite types of books?
I actually tend to read almost entirely non-fiction books, usually about history, science and other such things.  I suppose that makes sense considering the historical backgrounds that tend to show up in the Kitty Hawk books.

 What would you suggest to aspiring authors of book-series?
This might sound like a completely crazy idea for advice, and I am not even sure I myself could EVER have possibly followed it, but....  my advice would be to write the third or fourth book of the series FIRST.  And the reason for this is simple: just like with anything in life, you get better at it with practice.  The later books in a series will generally be better than the first book.  This isn't to say that the first book won't be good, but as you write and learn the process for yourself, I think you become empowered to write a much better first book of a series once you've already written a couple of the later ones already.  Plus, of course, you want the first book of any series to be as good as it can possibly be, right?  It will generally be the first one that anyone reads.
If you were stranded on a desert Island what three books would you take with you?
Easy answer!  The Mosquito Coast by Paul Theroux.  Contact by Carl Sagan.  And It by Stephen King.

It was a very interesting experience to be involved in an interview with an author, and an equally delightful one to review his answers.
I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did, and please check his book, information and links below.

Happy Reading!

There are currently four books in the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series:

-          Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold (book 1)

-          Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway's Ghost (book 2)

-          Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue (book 3)

-          Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic (book 4)

Each book can be read as a standalone.

About the Author:
Iain Reading is passionate about Root Beer, music, and writing. He is Canadian, but currently resides in the Netherlands working for the United Nations. Iain has published 4 books in the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series (Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold, Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway's Ghost, Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue, and Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic). He is currently working on the 5th book in the series. For more information, go to 

Iain is also the author of The Wizards of Waterfire Series. The first book in the series: The Guild of the Wizards of Waterfire was published in April 2014. Connect with Iain on Twitter and Goodreads.



No comments